movement  I

movement II

instrumentation: flute (doubling on piccolo), clarinet in Bb (doubling bass clarinet), violin, cello, piano, percussion, and electronics.

duration: 10 minutes.

for sextet and electronics

Written for the [Switch~ Ensemble], lamento is a work immersed in musico-historical pianto and lament-like gestures and motifs, constantly reconfigured in color and in intervallic increments. As the work progresses, microtonal intervals created by the meta-instruments (piano, glockenspiel and vibraphone) become ever smaller—a symbolic gesture of pleading.

The piece is currently a work in progress with an intended third movement that references the vernacular instrumental music from Brazil called chorinho, which literally translates to “little cry”, or “little lament”.

© 2018 Igor Santos. All Rights Reserved.

︎    ︎    ︎    ︎    ︎